College honors faculty and staff at 2018 awards

Monday, April 23, 2018

The Belk College of Business at UNC Charlotte presented awards to faculty and staff recognizing their accomplishments in teaching, research and service. The 2018 Faculty and Staff Awards were presented by Dean Steven Ott on April 20 to:

Paul GagglPaul Gaggl, Assistant Professor of Economics and Public Policy Affiliate, received the Best Paper Award for his article “A Short-Run View of What Computers Do: Evidence from a UK Tax Incentive” co-authored with Greg Wright and published in the American Economic Journal: Applied Economics. The paper identifies what happens to a firm’s workforce and wage structure when the firm buys new Information Technology equipment. Gaggl's current research concentrates on the distributional effects of technology adoption, particularly concerning the heterogeneous effects on different types of workers and the distribution of income between labor and capital. Gaggl joined the Belk College of Business in 2012 after earning his Ph.D. from the University of California at Davis in 2012.

Justin WebbJustin WebbAssociate Professor of Management and Belk Distinguished Scholar of Business Innovation, received the Distinguished Scholarship Award. Having joined the Belk College in 2014, today’s award winner has published 36 peer- reviewed journal articles, among other works, and has an h-index at 27. He serves as an exemplar to his fellow faculty and doctoral students at UNC Charlotte, as well as to the broader entrepreneurship and management community. He received his Ph.D. from the Texas A&M University, Mays Business School.

Justin MartinJustin MartinLecturer in Business Information Systems and Operations Management, received the Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award. A 49er through and through – he completed his undergraduate and graduate degrees at UNC Charlotte and is currently in a doctoral program. His teaching is hands-on, energetic and humorous, as evidenced by his consistently high student evaluations. Martin joined the Belk College of Business faculty in 2012 and is a full-time lecturer in the Department of Business Information Systems and Operations Management. Prior to joining the faculty, he worked as a software developer and business technology analyst with Bank of America. 

Chandrasekar SubramaniamChandrasekar Subramaniam, Associate Professor of Management Information Systems, received the Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award. This year’s award winner is known for teaching a broad range of MBA courses and for his style of teaching - characterized by excellent command of the subject matter, organization and rigor. He also played a very significant role in revamping an introductory course in the DSBA master’s program. He joined the Belk College in 2003 and received his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Franz KellermannsFranz Kellermanns, Academic Director, DBA Program and Professor and Addison H. & Gertrude C. Reese Endowed Chair, received the Outstanding Service Award for internal and external service to the College. Kellermanns' extensive service has included: as keynote speaker, as editor of Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice, on many editorial boards and committees, as chair or committee member on 35 dissertations worldwide, and in various leadership positions in academic organizations. In addition, in his role in establishing the Doctorate in Business Administration program, his took on the role as informal leader and is now academic director. Kellermanns joined the Belk College in 2013 and received his Ph.D. from the University of Connecticut.

Kinsey SheehanKinsey SheehanAlumni Relations Manager, received the Staff Member of the Year Award for her customer service and personal interaction, and for outstanding education support and creativity. Her colleagues describe her as a passionate, dedicated and creative leader. Her nominator notes, “In 2013, the Belk College chose the best person to serve as a leader for the Alumni Council. After five years of collaborating with the College’s alumni, she has truly developed a solid group of champions for our College.”