College Announces 2020 Faculty and Staff Award Recipients

Faculty Staff Award Winners
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Awards recognize accomplishments in teaching, research and service

The Belk College of Business at UNC Charlotte has presented awards to faculty and staff recognizing their accomplishments in teaching, research and service.

 The 2020 Faculty and Staff Award recipients were recognized virtually by Interim Dean Jennifer Troyer through video messages to faculty and staff.

Judsen RussellJudson Russell, clinical professor of finance, is the recipient of the Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award. Russell joined the Belk College in 2005.

Russell's teaching background covers International Finance, Corporate Finance, Investment, Financial Institutions and Markets, Derivatives-Financial Risk Management, and the Student Managed Investment Fund course. He serves as the education chair and member of the Board of Directors for the North Carolina CFA Society and is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) charter holder.

Craig A. Depken IICraig A. Depken II, program director of the Master of Science (M.S.) in Economics and professor of economics, is the recipient of the Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award. Depken joined the Belk College in August 2007.

Depken’s accomplishments include developing new graduate courses, a willingness to step up to take several graduate teaching assignments on short notice, consistently strong teaching evaluations, service as a member or chair of 48 thesis or dissertation committees, and publication of numerous peer-reviewed articles with graduate students.

Tom MarshallTom Marshall, lecturer in finance, has received the Outstanding Service Award for internal and external service to the college. Since joining the Belk College in 2005, Marshall has leveraged his relationships with industry to support students, bringing employers to campus for campus fairs, and students to industry meetings to provide networking opportunities and build leadership skills. Marshall also has organized and takes students to risk and insurance hubs across the world to provide real-life experiences.

 Marshall, who serves as mentor to his students, has raised money for student scholarships, international travel, and licensure fees.

​​Xiuli HeYongqiang Chu, Director of the Childress Klein Distinguished Professor of Real Estate and Urban Economics, received the Best Paper Award for his co-authored paper “Corporate Innovation along the Supply Chain,” which was published in Management Science. In this paper, Dr. Chu and two co-authors shed new light on the effect of the supplier–customer relationship on corporate innovation.The paper was the lead and featured article of that issue, and also mentioned in the editor-in-chief's mid-year update.

Chu joined the Belk College in 2018.

Kexin ZhouDave Mauer, Ph.D. program director and Torrence E. Hemby Sr. Distinguished Professor of Finance, is the recipient of the Distinguished Scholarship Award.  

Mauer, who joined the Belk College in 2015, is one of the most cited financial economists worldwide. Nearly one third of his 36 published articles are in the top-three finance journals, with over 8,000 citations. 

Mauer was a nominee for the Smith Breeden Prize, awarded to authors with the best finance research papers published in the Journal of Finance. He also has made numerous presentations of his research at prestigious institutions, including Cornell, Dartmouth and Vanderbilt universities, and has presented at top conferences, including the American Finance Association Annual Meeting.

He serves on the editorial board of numerous high-quality journals and as a tenure/promotion reviewer for more than 20 universities. 

Cem SaydamSteven Rogelberg, Chancellor’s Professor and professor of management, is the recipient of the Distinguished Scholarship Award. Rogelberg, who joined the Belk College in 2003, is a professor of organizational science, management, and psychology and the director of Organizational Science.

He has published over 100 publications and has over 7,500 citations. Over a third of his research has been published in elite journals.

Rogelberg was recently elected president-elect of the largest IO Psychology association and is the editor of the Journal of Business and Psychology. He was the 2019 recipient of UNC Charlotte’s First Citizens Bank Scholars Medal for distinguished record of research. In 2017, he received the Humboldt Award for research excellence.

Allison SigmonAllison Sigmon '08, associate director of academic and career coaching in the Niblock Student Center, has received the Staff Member of the Year Award.

Sigmon joined the Belk College in 2013 and has worked with students from freshman to senior years in all majors. As the marketing department liaison, she serves as a resource for about 400 students, particularly communicating department curriculum changes and how those impact class registration and graduation.